June 21, 2024

UT diving earns numerous accolades on Wednesday

Members of the Tennessee diving team earned notable awards after performing highly at the SEC Championships this past Wednesday.

Graphic by Tennessee Athletics.

Graphic by Tennessee Athletics.

On Wednesday, three members of the Tennessee diving squad received notable SEC honors. Mauricio Robles won the SEC Male Diver of the Year award for the second time in three years, Rachel Rubadue was named SEC Women’s Freshman of the Year and head coach Dave Parrington won his ninth SEC Men’s Coach of the Year award, bringing his SEC Coach of the Year award total to 12.

Under the direction of Parrington, Robles concluded his decorated career on Rocky Top by defending his 1-meter springboard title and winning gold on platform for the first time since his freshman season during this year’s SEC Championships. In total, Robles has four SEC gold medals.

Rubadue also won gold on platform and earned bronze in the 3-meter springboard on the women’s side at the conference meet. At the NCAA meet, she earned All-America honors on the 1-meter springboard.

Parrington continues his prestigious career at Tennessee with yet another award. In 25 seasons as the Vols’ diving coach, Parrington has coached the program to six NCAA championships (four men and two women) and 37 SEC Championships (22 men, 15 women).

Collectively at this year’s conference championship, Tennessee swimmers and divers were named to seven all-conference honors. Robles earned his fourth All-SEC honors, while the women finished No. 2 overall at the SEC meet.

Featured graphic courtesy of Tennessee Athletics

Edited by Cody McClure